Penn State 2012 Position Previews: Wide Receivers

Shawney Kersey looks to have a breakout year in 2012, as the returning wideout with the most experience.

Rewind to January 2, 2012.

A day after Penn State's defeat in the TicketCity Bowl and Derek Moye's final game as a Nittany Lion, there is already a good determination on how the 2012 receiving core will look. Returning starter Justin Brown will become the number-one target after the departure of Moye. After being thrown between multiple positions as an athlete (a la a young Derrick Williams), Curtis Drake will finally get his shot to break-out as the second option on the outside. And finally, Devon Smith would run really fast and drop passes from the slot.

What has happened since?

March 26: On the first day of spring practice, Bill O'Brien announces that Drake has been moved from wide receiver to cornerback. After solidifying a spot in the secondary after the Blue-White Game, Drake wastes the opportunity as it is announced at the start of June that he has been booted from the team.

April 28: Smith is charged with marijuana possession after it is found in the apartment he and Jack Crawford shared. Crawford is not charged.

June 20: Smith is dismissed from the team, presumably due to the marijuana charge.

August 4: Due to the sanctions levied on Penn State by the NCAA, Brown decides to take his free ticket out of State College and ends up in Norman where Landry Jones will throw to him this upcoming year for the Oklahoma Sooners.

Woof.

What do we have left? A group of receivers where no one caught more than five balls last year. Inexperienced, yes, but still a group that has some raw talent. Let's take a look at them.

More 2012 Position Previews…
Running Backs (Cari) - 8.13.12
Linebackers (Mike) - 8.14.12
Defensive Tackles (Jared) - 8.15.12
Special Teams (Tim) - 8.16.12
Offensive Line (bscaff) - 8.17.12
Tight Ends (Devon) - 8.20.12
Defensive Ends (Jared) - 8.21.12
Wide Receivers (Dan) - 8.22.12
Quarterbacks (Jeff) - 8.23.12
Defensive Backs (Cari) - 8.24.12

PROJECTED STARTERS

#81 Shawney Kersey (RS JR)

Kersey first made a splash in that rainy 2010 Blue-White Game when he was on the receiving end of both of Paul Jones's touchdown passes, but he split time between receiver and special teams that year. In 2011, he caught five passes for 108 yards, but none after the Big Ten opener against Indiana. He has decent size at 6-1 and weighing in at just under 200 pounds. He'll have to produce early with youngsters Eugene Lewis and Malik Golden coming into the program with hype and impressing early on.

#8 Allen Robinson (SO)

Author's note: He will be the break-out receiver of the 2012 season

Robinson, the high school teammate of Rob Bolden, played as a true freshman last year and hauled in three balls for 29 yards. He played in 12 games and got the start in the season finale against Wisconsin. He was the top performer among the receivers in this year's Blue-White Game, catching three passes for 87 yards. He is the tallest of the projected starters as 6-foot-3 which should give him great ability on jump balls and a strong presence across the middle of the field.

#15 Alex Kenney (RS SO)

Kenney, the home-grown talent from State College High, was listed as a cornerback most of last season, but is now the projected starter as the slot receiver after Devon Smith's dismissal. The position won't drop off in the speed department as Kenney won the silver medal in the 100 meters in high school with a time of 10:63. He continues to be a sprinter on the Penn State track and field team.

The Backups

#17 Christian Kuntz (RS JR)

The tallest of the receivers at 6-foot-4, Kuntz had one reception last year which came in the Eastern Michigan game.

#80 Matt Zanellato (RS FR)

Zanellato used his redshirt in his first year on campus and is now listed behind Robinson on the depth chart. He caught two balls for 33 yards in the 2012 Blue-White Game.

#4 Evan Lewis (SR)

The high school quarterback turned cornerback turned wide receiver turned placekicker is now back at wide receiver during his fifth year at Penn State backing up Kenney in the slot position. He has no catches to his credit, but he does have one field goal and six PATs from last year as well as a 8-yard run on a fake kick.

The Freshmen

#16 Eugene Lewis

#20 Malik Golden

Both of these highly-touted recruits have impressed during practices so far. The question is if either or both of them will redshirt due to the new scholarship limits. Both could compete for playing time this year, but if one were to redshirt, expect it to be Golden.

The Rest

#13 Tyler Lucas (RS FR)

#85 Brandon Moseby-Felder (RS JR)

#6 Shane Phillips (RS FR)

#88 Johnathan Warner (FR)

#10 Trevor Williams (FR)

Word came out yesterday that Williams has been running with the first-team at points throughout practice so far and could compete for serious time this season. It certainly wouldn't hurt to have another young guy step up and be able to contribute to an offense that will need all the help it can get this year.


And join us on Facebook
All BSD community members should review our current Posting & Commenting Policies before creating any posts or commenting.
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Black Shoe Diaries

You must be a member of Black Shoe Diaries to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Black Shoe Diaries. You should read them.

Join Black Shoe Diaries

You must be a member of Black Shoe Diaries to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Black Shoe Diaries. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker