Penn State 2012 Position Previews: Quarterback

Aug 6, 2012; University Park, PA, USA; Penn State Nittany Lions quarterback Matthew McGloin (11) looks on during practice at the Lasch Football Building practice fields. Mandatory Credit: Rich Barnes-US PRESSWIRE

Wednesday, September 1, 2010: Three days prior to the opening matchup against Youngstown State, Penn State officially announces Rob Bolden will be the opening day starter.

Injuries, poor performance, and other factors lead to a revolving door of quarterbacks, with Bolden and Matt McGloin sharing the snaps throughout the 2010 season. The duo combined for 19 touchdowns, 16 interceptions, and a 56.4% completion percentage.

Saturday, September 3, 2011: Having never officially named a starter for the opening match against Indiana State, Bolden starts the first quarter, McGloin plays the second quarter, the two split time in the third, and neither sees the field in the fourth, the game well in hand by then.

Once again, poor performance and a coaching strategy that seemed to boggle the mind at times cause the two quarterbacks to split reps once again throughout the year. This time around, the two manage 10 touchdowns, 12 interceptions, and a 48.6% completion percentage.

Friday, June 1, 2012: Penn State officially names Matt McGloin the starting quarterback for the 2012 season opener against Ohio.

Wait, what? No QB derby in fall camp? Well I never...

More 2012 Position Previews…
Running Backs (Cari) - 8.13.12
Linebackers (Mike) - 8.14.12
Defensive Tackles (Jared) - 8.15.12
Special Teams (Tim) - 8.16.12
Offensive Line (bscaff) - 8.17.12
Tight Ends (Devon) - 8.20.12
Defensive Ends (Jared) - 8.21.12
Wide Receivers (Dan) - 8.22.12
Quarterbacks (Jeff) - 8.23.12
Defensive Backs (Cari) - 8.24.12

The Starter

#11 Matt McGloin (RS Senior)

The best thing to happen to Matt McGloin in the past year could very well be Penn State's hiring of Bill O'Brien as head football coach. O'Brien's offense isn't centered around the big play, something McGloin has struggled with; rather, the QB in the BOB offense must be a game-manager, someone who can effectively run the style of offense BOB wants. There will be shallow crossing routes, RB flares, and drag routes mixed into the offensive scheme. So long as McGloin can maintain the game's flow and hit these easier throws, he should find some success in 2011.

McGloin's downfall has long been his penchant for trying to force the wrong pass. At times, he seems like the next member of the Anthony "Unleash The Dragon" Morelli Fan Club, chucking the ball downfield to a questionable open receiver. At other times, he's forcing a ball into triple coverage rather than throw it away or take a sack. If he can get the mental aspect of the game in line, again, McGloin should find some success.

The Backups

#7 Paul Jones (RS Sophomore)
#12 Steven Bench (Freshman)

As the old saying goes, the most popular man on campus is the backup quarterback. Paul Jones has had his fair share of supporters over the past two years, but academic struggles have kept him on the bench. With those issues reportedly behind him, Jones comes into 2012 with something to prove. He also comes in with some added weight, checking in at a robust 250+ pounds. He has a cannon for an arm and is moderately mobile (even with the weight), but has struggled at times, according to reports, with progressions and game management. He has the raw talent to be successful at Penn State, and many are anxious to see him get some playing time. But he still has a way to go.

The surprise of fall camp thus far has been the play of the freshman from Georgia. He has reportedly been pushing Jones for second team reps, and has been a vocal leader of the 2012 recruiting class.

The Rest

#2 Shane McGregor
#14 Garrett Venuto

Outside of some mop up time, Sunshine McGregor and G-Ven aren't likely to see much time. As long as Penn State doesn't get Cianciolo'd by some team this year, these guys will continue their supporting roles on the bench and the practice fields.


And join us on Facebook
All BSD community members should review our current Posting & Commenting Policies before creating any posts or commenting.
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Black Shoe Diaries

You must be a member of Black Shoe Diaries to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Black Shoe Diaries. You should read them.

Join Black Shoe Diaries

You must be a member of Black Shoe Diaries to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Black Shoe Diaries. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker