clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Penn State Owns The Bednarik Award

Last night Penn State linebacker Dan Connor was awarded the 2007 Chuck Bednarik Award for being the nation's most outstanding linebacker. It's the third consecutive year a Penn State linebacker will bring home the trophy after Paul Posluszny won the award in 2005 and 2006. Connor is the third Penn State linebacker to win the Bednarik with the other going to Lavar Arrington in 1999.

Dan had an outstanding season leading the Big Ten with 136 tackles. Connor was also tenth in the league in sacks and TFL with 6.5 and 14 respectively. And he did it all with a swollen knee that required a small amount of water the size of Lake Erie to be drained from the joint after each game and practice. Dan beat out Ohio State linebacker James Laurinaitis and LSU defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey who took home the Outland Trophy, the Bronko Nagurski Award, and the prestigious Lombardi Award.

Congratulations to Dan who will try to bring home the Butkus award tonight. Connor is a finalist for the Butkus along with James Laurinaitis and Colorado linebacker Jordan Dizon.