clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Divisions Being Announced Tonight

It's going down tonight. I just recieved this notice from the Big Ten Network moments ago.

Commissioner Jim Delany to appear exclusively on 90-minute special
CHICAGO – The Big Ten Network will air the official live announcement of the Big Ten football divisions with Commissioner Jim Delany at 7 p.m. ET tonight.  The show will also be streamed live at
Lead studio host Dave Revsine will host the football special and be joined by analysts Gerry DiNardo and Howard Griffith. Confirmed guests will include athletic directors David Brandon of Michigan, Mark Hollis of Michigan State, Gene Smith of Ohio State, Tom Osborne of Nebraska, and other Big Ten Network analysts.

UPDATE: ESPN is reporting the divisions will be split as follows.

Division 1

Division 2

Michigan Ohio State
Nebraska Penn State
Iowa Wisconsin
Michigan State          Purdue
Northwestern Indiana
Minnesota Illinois

There is no word at this time on what the protected rivalries would look like, though we can assume Michigan and Ohio State will be paired up. Splitting up Minnesota and Wisconsin would be a travesty as well. Northwestern versus Illinois makes sense. The big question Penn State fans want to know is if we will get paired with Nebraska, Iowa, or get stuck with Michigan State for the next one hundred years.