clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

McGloin Up For Burlsworth Trophy

Senior quarterback up for award which honors Division I players who started off as walk-ons.

Mike Pettigano

Matt McGloin, the senior quarterback from West Scranton High School, is in the running for the Burlsworth Trophy, given to the nation's top player who started off as a walk-on player.

McGloin, who has now started for parts of three years, is leading the Big Ten in multiple passing categories this season, his first in the pass-heavy Bill O'Brien offense, and is set to become Penn State's all-time leader in passing touchdowns, needing just three more to break Darryl Clark's mark. The much-criticized signal-caller has really turned it on this year under the tutelage of O'Brien and has become the strong senior leader this Penn State team needed heading into this year.

The Burlsworth Trophy is in its third year of existence and is named after Brandon Burlsworth who came to Arkansas as a walk-on player in 1994 and left as a 1st-team All-American and 2nd-round NFL draft pick five years later. The two previous winners of the award have been Sean Bedford of Georgia Tech (2010) and Austin Davis of Southern Mississippi (2011). Jared Abbrederis of Wisconsin and Mike Meyer of Iowa are some of McGloin's Big Ten counterparts that join him on the finalist list this year.

And join us on Facebook
All BSD community members should review our current Posting & Commenting Policies before creating any posts or commenting.