clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

PLAYOFFS?! Are We Talking About Playoffs?!

Indeed we are, Jim.

After 14 years of computer-controlled tyranny, the BCS conference commissioners and the Presidential Oversight Committee announced on Tuesday night that a four-team playoff would officially be coming to college football in 2014-2015.

The deal that is in place will last 12 years, so it will be at least a decade before we can talk about an 8- or 16-team playoff. The four seeded playoff teams will be chosen by a selection committee to play in semifinal games that will take place on New Year's Eve and New Year's Day. Those semifinal games will take place among six current bowl sites that will rotate every year. Plans are to include the four current BCS bowls along with two others, one which is suspected to be the newly created Champions Bowl, which is expected to be the new Cotton Bowl. The national championship game will not be branded as a bowl and will be bid out to neutral site suitors.

We'll have more detailed coverage of the playoff in coming days (here is our story from last week), but for now, commence your excited GIF posting, loyal readers.

And join us on Facebook