clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Only John Cappelletti Until Penn State Football

New, 32 comments
via <a href=""></a>

Remember when I said this week was all about running backs? Well, who else did you expect for #22? Evan Royster's the all-time rushing record holder (and Chuck Burkhart didn't lose a game as the starting QB in '68 and '69), but the righteous owner of Penn State's #22 is the only Nittany Lion to ever win the Heisman Trophy, John Cappelletti.

Starting his Nittany Lion career behind the tremendous running back duo of Lydell Mitchell and Franco Harris, Cappelletti got on the field by playing defense and special teams. But he made the switch back to running back in time to become the first ever Penn Stater to rush for 1000 yards twice, and capped off a magical undefeated senior season in 1973 with the unanimously heralded performance that saw him win virtually every major award there is--from the Heisman to the Maxwell to the Walter Camp, Chic Harley, and UPI Player of the Year awards. An enshrinee in the College Football Hall of Fame, Cappelleti holds one more distinction.

Joe Paterno called him"the best football player [he] ever coached."