clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Effect of Paul Jones' Departure on Scholarship Count

And then there were 68...

With Jones' departure for personal reasons, here is a quick look at the remaining scholarship players, with some caveats. First, though, the NCAA imposed limitations:

  • 75 total scholarships in 2013;
  • 65 total scholarships from 2014 through 2017;
  • 15 scholarships per incoming class from 2013 through 2017.

First Last Pos. Class
Steven Bench QB FR
DaQuan Davis CB FR
Derek Dowrey DT FR
Brennan Franklin LB FR
Brian Gaia DT FR
Malik Golden WR FR
Jesse James TE FR
Austin Johnson DT FR
Jake Kiley CB FR
Wendy Laurent OT FR
Eugene Lewis WR FR
Jordan Lucas S FR
Akeel Lynch RB FR
Evan Schwan DE FR
Anthony Stanko OG FR
Jonathan Warner WR FR
Nyeem Wartman LB FR
Brent Wilkerson TE FR
Trevor Williams WR FR
Anthony Alosi OT FR R
Deion Barnes DE FR R
Kyle Carter TE FR R
Jordan Kerner DE FR R
Ben Kline LB FR R
Angelo Mangiro OG FR R
Donovan Smith OT FR R
Matt Zanellato WR FR R
Anthony Zettel DT FR R
Adrian Amos CB SO
Bill Belton RB SO
Sam Ficken PK SO
Allen Robinson WR SO
Brad Bars LB SO R
Kyle Baublitz DE SO R
Miles Dieffenbach OG SO R
Luke Graham OT SO R
Mike Hull LB SO R
Alex Kenney WR SO R
C.J. Olaniyan DE SO R
Zach Zwinak FB SO R
Glenn Carson LB JR
DaQuan Jones DT JR
Mark Arcidiacono OG JR R
Nate Cadogan OT JR R
Curtis Dukes RB JR R
Frank Figueroa OC JR R
Garry Gilliam TE JR R
Adam Gress OT JR R
Ty Howle OC JR R
Christian Kuntz WR JR R
Brandon Moseby-Felder WR JR R
Stephen Obeng-Agyapong S JR R
Eric Shrive OG JR R
John Urschel OG JR R
Mike Wallace CB JR R
Malcolm Willis S JR R
Jordan Hill DT SR
Gerald Hodges LB SR
Stephon Morris CB SR
Sean Stanley DE SR
Mike Farrell OT SR R
Pete Massaro DE SR R
Michael Mauti LB SR R
Matthew McGloin QB SR R
Matt Stankiewitch C SR R
James Terry DT SR R
Michael Yancich LB SR R
Michael Zordich FB SR R

That's 68 players, but you'll note that some players are missing. Former walk-on players that have earned scholarships this year (and possibly beyond) are not identified on this list, becase definitively identifying them is difficult. It's hard to imagine that Derek Day, Jacob Fagnano, and others aren't currently on scholarship; however, with the 75 limit coming next year, it's similarly hard to figure that some of these players didn't earn scholarships for 2012 alone.

Note that 12 of those players are seniors; thus, Penn State's numbers entering 2013 will be 56 scholarship players, plus whichever of the former walk-ons have earned more than one-year scholarships. With a limit of 15 scholarships per year, and assuming Penn State maxes out that number, that leaves 4 available scholarships to give to former walk-ons in 2013.

Add the following Class of 2013 commitments into the mix. Eleven current commits, with four available openings.

First Last Pos. Class
Christian Hackenberg QB 2013
Adam Breneman TE 2013
Garrett Sickels DE 2013
Brendan Mahon OL 2013
Andrew Nelson OL 2013
Neiko Robinson DB 2013
Brandon Bell LB 2013
Curtis Cothran DE 2013
Kasey Gaines DB 2013
Tanner Hartman OL 2013
Jordan Smith DB 2013