clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bill O'Brien Wins Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award

New, 130 comments

The award is his third national honor for the 2012 season.


Penn State head coach Bill O'Brien was awarded the Bear Bryant Coach of the Year award on Thursday night during a ceremony in Houston. It was O'Brien's third national coaching honor of the year after also winning awards from the Maxwell Club and ESPN.

O'Brien received the award over other finalists Kevin Sumlin (Texas A&M), James Franklin (Vanderbilt), Urban Meyer (Ohio State), Bill Snyder (Kansas State) and David Shaw (Stanford).

The Bear Bryant Award was first given out in 1986 to national championship winning coach Joe Paterno. Twenty-six years later, the man who came on to replace him full-time is taking home the award for stabilizing the program that the former had created.

Here is video of O'Brien from Houston:

Congratulations, BOB. Hopefully you can add a few more Bear Bryants to the trophy case during your time here in Happy Valley!

And join us on Facebook
All BSD community members should review our current Posting & Commenting Policies before creating any posts or commenting.