clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

John Urschel Awarded Campbell Trophy

John Urschel Awarded Campbell Trophy

Matthew O'Haren-USA TODAY Sports

Guard John Urschel became Penn State's first Campbell Trophy winner. Also known as the "academic Heisman", the Campbell trophy has been awarded annually since 1990, and is named after former Columbia University player and coach William V. Campbell, the current Chairman of Intuit.

Urschel was selected by the National Football Foundation from 15 finalists, which included 3 other Big Ten student athletes: Michigan State LB Max Bullough, Nebraska OL Spencer Long, and Iowa LB James Morris. Congratulations to John.