clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MMQB: Which Penn State Player Deserved The Heisman?

Jeff Zelevansky

Last week, Bill wrote this year's EA Sports sponsored post on player rankings in the new NCAA '14 video game and it got me thinking about the stories I wrote for NCAA '13 last year which focused on the Heisman Trophy. The first post focused on which previous winner you would want to play at Penn State (I selected Herschel Walker) and the second was to pick the biggest snub in the history of the award (Paul Hornung over Jim Brown in 1956).

As I assume a large majority of BSD readers know, Penn State has only had one Heisman winner in its existence, that being John Cappeletti in 1973. But there have certainly been years when Penn State players were in contention for college football's most prestigious award. In 1994, Kerry Collins, Ki-Jana Carter and Kyle Brady were all in the running when the award went to Rashaan Salaam who ran for over 2,000 for Colorado. In 2002, Larry Johnson ran for over 2,000 for the Lions, but Carson Palmer's performance at USC earned him top honors in New York. Even in 2005, Michael Robinson earned votes after winning Big Ten Player of the Year. That trophy now belongs to no one after the Reggie Bush extra benefits affair.

For this week's MMQB...

Which Nittany Lion from the past would you deservedly give the Heisman to in place of that year's actual winner?

And join us on Facebook
All BSD community members should review our current Posting & Commenting Policies before creating any posts or commenting.