clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Penn State to Retire #22

"22" will be the first number to be retired at Penn State.

Hunter Martin

During halftime of today's Penn State-Eastern Michigan game, the undefeated 1973 was honored, a team that included Penn State's only Heisman Trophy winner, John Cappelletti. During the ceremony, it was announced that the school would be retiring that he and other great Penn State running backs have worn throughout the years. The number 22 is the first number to be retired by the football program.

In 1973, Cappelletti ran for 1,522 yards and 17 touchdowns for a Penn State team that went undefeated and beat LSU in the Orange Bowl. He was honored with the Heisman for his performance at a ceremony still remembered today due to the his acceptance speech where he honored his little brother, Joey, who was fighting leukemia.

Others who wore the number 22 for Penn State include:

  • Evan Royster, the Nittany Lions' all-time leading rusher
  • Ray Isom, one of the leaders of the secondary for Penn State's 1986 national championship team
  • Chuck Burkart, who went 22-0 as a starter at Penn State between 1968 and 1969.

Akeel Lynch, who currently wears #22, will retain the number for his career at Cappelletti's wishes.

And join us on Facebook
All BSD community members should review our current Posting & Commenting Policies before creating any posts or commenting.