clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hull, Zettel Named First Team All-Big Ten

Ficken and Hamilton also honored

Matthew O'Haren-USA TODAY Sports

Senior linebacker Mike Hull and junior Anthony Zettel have been selected as first team All-Big Ten at their respective positions by both the coaches and the media. Additionally, Hull was honored as the Butkus-Fitzgerald Big Ten Linebacker of the Year. It is the second time a Nittany Lion took home the award in the four years since the implementation of the honor, with Michael Mauti being named the recipient after a stellar 2012 campaign.

Hull led the Big Ten in tackles with 11.2 stops per game (134 on the season). The senior leader also collected 10.5 tackles for loss on the season, two sacks and a pivotal interception in the Nittany Lions near upset of Ohio State. Zettel was the team leader in sacks (8.0), tackles for loss (15.0), and amazingly enough, interception (3.0). He also had a key interception against Ohio State that was returned for a 40-yard touchdown. Zettel finished with 36 tackles and five pass breakups on the season.

Senior kicker Sam Ficken was named second team All-Big Ten by both the coaches and media. Freshman DaeSean Hamilton was named second team All-Big Ten by the media only. Adrian Amos, Deion Barnes, Jesse James, Austin Johnson, Jordan Lucas, Angelo Mangiro and Trevor Williams all received honorable mention accolades.

Congratulations to all the Nittany Lions who were honored tonight!