clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Carl Nassib Wins The 2015 Ted Hendricks Award

The award, given annually by the Ted Hendricks Foundation, goes to the best defensive end in the country.

Matthew O'Haren-USA TODAY Sports

All year, we've argued that Penn State defensive end Carl Nassib was easily the best player at his position in college football. Today, it became official, as Nassib won the 2015 Ted Hendricks Award, given annually to the nation's premier defensive end.

Nassib won the award over a loaded field of candidates, beating out Michigan State’s Shilique Calhoun, Clemson’s Shaq Lawson, Oregon’s DeForest Buckner, Texas A&M’s Myles Garrett, and Oklahoma State’s Emmanuel Ogbah. With the win, Nassib became the first Penn Stater to ever receive the award.

Here's what Nassib had to say about the honor, via a press release:

"Three years ago [defensive coordinator] John Butler called me ‘the stork’ and at the time I didn't know what it meant so I took it as an insult, but after realizing who it represented [Ted Hendricks], I see it now as a huge compliment," Nassib said. "To receive this award is an amazing accomplishment and honor that I will always remember. I'm thankful for my family, friends, coaches and teammates for helping me strive to be my best. I could not have done it without them."

Nassib is still up for a bevy of other awards, you can check out the entire list right here. On the season, Penn State's breakout star racked up 46 tackles, 19.5 tackles for loss, 15.5 sacks, six forced fumbles, and an interception that he returned for a touchdown. He led the nation in sacks and forced fumbles, and was second in tackles for loss.

Congrats, Carl!