clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Zettel, Hackenberg, and Hamilton Added to Preseason Watchlists

A trio of Penn State players have been added to the Maxwell and Bednarik Preseason Watchlists.

Joe Camporeale-USA TODAY Sports

Penn State announced earlier today that Christian Hackenberg and DaeSean Hamilton have been added to the Maxwell Award watchlist, and Anthony Zettel has been added to the Bednarik Award watchlist.

The Maxwell Award, given to "the best football player in the United States," has been given to 7 Penn State players, which is tied for most in the nation. Kerry Collins, Larry Johnson, and John Cappelletti are among the names of previous Maxwell Award winners.

Penn State's four Bednarik Award winners is the most by any school in the nation. LaVarr Arrington, Paul Posluszny (twice), and Dan Connor are the previous recepients of the award.

Read the full press release on the GoPSU Sports website.