clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Franklin, McSorley win Maxwell Football Club Awards

The awards continue to pile up for the Nittany Lions

NCAA Football: Big Ten Championship-Wisconsin vs Penn State Thomas J. Russo-USA TODAY Sports

The Maxwell Football Club announced Tuesday that James Franklin has been awarded the 19th annual Tri-State Coach of the Year award. Additionally, quarterback Trace McSorley was awarded the 16th annual Player of the Year award.

Franklin is the first Penn State coach to win the award.

“Coach Franklin and his staff have engineered one of the truly amazing turnarounds in college football this season,” Maxwell Football Club Executive Director Mark Wolpert said in a press release .

McSorley led the Big Ten with 3,360 passing yards, 25 touchdowns and a 156.6 passer efficiency rating. He was also named Second-Team All-Big Ten.

Franklin and McSorley will be honored on Friday, March 10, 2017 at the 80th Maxwell Club National Awards Gala in Atlantic City, New Jersey.