clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Zain Retherford Named 2018 Hodge Trophy Winner

Back to back like...

NCAA Wrestling: DI Wrestling Championships Aaron Doster-USA TODAY Sports

Aaaaaaaaannnddd stillllllllllllll...

Penn State three-time national champion Zain Retherford is now a two-time Hodge Trophy winner.

Penn State wrestling and WIN Magazine announced Tuesday that Retherford was named the winner for the second straight year.

Retherford, who rounded out his career with his third straight national championship, finished ahead of fellow Penn State wrestler Bo Nickal for the wrestling equivalent of the Heisman Trophy.

Retherford received 35 out of 48 first-place votes. He joins former Penn State star David Taylor as one of only four multiple-time winners of the Hodge, including Penn State coach Cael Sanderson who is the only person to win the award three times.

Penn State heavyweight Kerry McCoy won the trophy in 1997, giving the Nittany Lions five Hodge Trophy winners all-time.

Retherford went undefeated in his senior season with a 83.9 percent bonus rate. He finished his career with a 126-3 record.

Nickal, who finished second, claimed six first-place votes.

For more info on the award and Retherford, you can check out Penn State’s full press release here.