clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Penn State Nittany Lion Football Team Announces 2018 Leadership Council

James Franklin announced who Penn State’s 24-man leadership council will consist of in 2018

NCAA Football: Fiesta Bowl-Penn State vs Washington Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Being viewed as a leader in life is a great honor. Whether you are viewed as a leader in the workplace or on a team, at home or at school, it is a sign that your peers respect and trust you.

On Wednesday, head coach James Franklin announced the Penn State football team’s 2018 leadership council. This season, the team’s leadership council will consist of 24 players that are trusted and respected by their teammates.

The Nittany Lions’ 2018 leadership council is as follows:

Seniors - Mark Allen, Torrence Brown, Jake Cooper, Koa Farmer, Trace McSorley, Amani Oruwariye, Nick Scott, Charlie Shuman, Jonathan Thomas, DeAndre Thompkins, Kyle Vasey, Jason Vranic, and Chasz Wright

Juniors - Ryan Bates, Blake Gillikin, Juwan Johnson, John Reid, and Tommy Stevens

Sophomores - Tariq Castro-Fields, Michal Menet, and Will Fries

Freshmen - Sean Clifford, Jonathan Sutherland, and C.J. Thorpe

“We are excited about our Leadership Council this year,” Franklin said via a press release. “This group becomes more valuable every year because of the relationships we develop and the ability to discuss topics and challenges facing our team, university and community with solution-oriented conversations. It is critical to continue to develop leadership skills within our team, not only for this year, but to prepare these young men for life after Penn State.”

The leadership council will meet with Coach Franklin twice a month during the regular season as they seek to play a key role in leading the team and creating strong chemistry in the locker room.

Congratulations to these 24 players on this great honor!