clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Linebacker Micah Parsons Named Finalist for Butkus Award

Parsons looks to become the third Nittany Lion to take home the Butkus Award.

Indiana v Penn State Photo by Scott Taetsch/Getty Images

Micah Parsons is receiving some well-deserved recognition for his stellar sophomore campaign. Parsons has been named as one of six finalists for the Butkus Award, given annually to the nation’s best linebacker.

Parsons has been a steady force for a stingy Nittany Lions defense, compiling a team-leading 85 tackles, with 10 TFLs, two sacks, two forced fumbles and a fumble recovery. He also led the team in tackles a s a true freshman in 2018.

Parsons is one of two Big Ten players up for the award. His competition includes Wisconsin’s Zack Baun, Texas Tech’s Jordyn Brooks, Clemson’s Isaiah Simmons, Cal’s Evan Weaver and Wyoming’s Logan Wilson.

The award will be given out at a ceremony on Thursday, Dec. 12 following the conclusion of the regular season and conference championship games. Two Nittany Lions have taken home to Butkus, with Paul Posluszny earning the honor in 2005 and Lavar Arrington, who Parsons is often compared to, winning the award in 1999.

Congratulations, Micah!