clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bo Nickal Named Hodge Trophy Winner

The wrestling version Heisman Trophy is staying in State College.

NCAA Wrestling: Wrestling Championships Douglas DeFelice-USA TODAY Sports

The most prestigious individual award in college wrestling is staying where it belongs.

Penn State senior Bo Nickal was named the 2019 Hodge Trophy winner on Monday.

The Hodge Trophy, named after famed Oklahoma wrestler Danny Hodge, is given annually to the nation’s best wrestler.

Last year, Zain Retherford claimed the award for the second consecutive time. In 2017 Retherford joined David Taylor and Kerry McCoy as winners for the Nittany Lions.

Both he and Taylor have won the award twice.

Penn State head coach Cael Sanderson was a three-time recipient of the award, taking home the honor in 2000, 2001 and 2002.

Nickal was utterly dominant this year en route to his third national championship.

The Texas via Wyoming product went 30-0 in his senior campaign with 18 falls, three tech falls and six major decisions.

Of 51 total ballots, Nickal claimed 37 first-place votes. Teammate Jason Nolf finished second and received 10 first-place votes of his own.

Per Penn State’s press release, two of Nickal’s 37 first-place ballots came from the on-line fan vote on WIN Magazine’s website. Of the nearly 28,000 unique votes cast over a four-day period during the week following the NCAAs, Nickal had 13,892, Ashnault was second with 7,828, Nolf had 5,251 and Diakomihalis ended with 933.

No school has won more Hodge Trophies than Penn State, with six. The award was first given in 1995.

The entire text of that press release can be found here.