clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Penn State Selected As Hosts for 2020 NCAA Midwest Regional

The NCAA Tournament will return to the PPL Center in Allentown for the third consecutive season.

Photo by Heather Weikel

For the third consecutive season, the NCAA Tournament will be heading to Allentown.

The NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee selected Penn State and the PPL Center as hosts for the 2020 Midwest Regional, held from March 28-29. The winner of that Regional will advance to the Frozen Four in Detroit.

The Nittany Lions have hosted the previous two Midwest Regionals at the PPL Center. After making the NCAA Tournament back-to-back seasons and playing in front of the Allentown crowd in 2018, the Nittany Lions were the first team out this season.

“Penn State and the PPL Center have worked diligently to provide the best post-season tournament environment possible the past two seasons in Allentown,” Assistant AD Michael Cross said via press release. “We appreciate the NCAA awarding us the opportunity to once again host a regional in the Commonwealth in 2020 and look forward to doing everything we can to showcase four of college hockey’s best teams on their journey to the Frozen Four.”

The NCAA also announced that the 2021 Midwest Regional will take place in Fargo, North Dakota, marking the first time Penn State won’t host in three years.