clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Releases Basketball Conference Schedule: Penn State is Back At The Palestra

The Nittany Lions will face Iowa at the Palestra on January 4th

NCAA Basketball: Michigan State at Penn State Derik Hamilton-USA TODAY Sports

Penn State’s schedule for the 2019-20 season is set. The Nittany Lions will face the Ohio State Buckeyes and The Maryland Terrapins in the December portion of the schedule, before playing the rest of their conference slate in January and February.

Back by popular demand, Penn State will face the Iowa Hawkeyes at The Palestra, one of the most historic venues in all of college basketball. The game at the Palestra is one of four Saturday home games for the Nittany Lions, which had not seen this many Saturday home games in several years. Including the Sunday game against Indiana, that’s five weekend games out of nine home games.

The Big Ten did Penn State no favors in having them play Ohio State and Maryland in the early conference slate, but the Lions get a much lighter load in early January, which hasn’t always been the case early in conference play. Last, but not least, Senior Day will come against Michigan State this season, which would make Lamar Stevens’ and Mike Watkins’ last game at the Bryce Jordan Center one of the biggest in recent memory.

Here’s the full schedule, including the non conference slate:

November 9 – WAGNER
November 14 – at Georgetown (Gavitt Tipoff Games)
November 19 – Bucknell
November 23 – Yale
November 27 – vs. Ole Miss (NIT Season Tipoff)
November 29 – vs. Oklahoma State/Syracuse (NIT Season Tipoff)
December 4 – Wake Forest (Big Ten/ACC Challenge)
December 7 – at Ohio State
December 10 – Maryland
December 14 – Alabama
December 20 – Central Connecticut State
December 29 – CORNELL
January 4 – vs. Iowa (Palestra)
January 7 – at Rutgers
January 11 – Wisconsin
January 15 – at Minnesota
January 18 – Ohio State
January 22 – at Michigan
January 29 – Indiana
February 1 – at Nebraska
February 4 – at Michigan State
February 8 – Minnesota
February 11 – at Purdue
February 15 – Northwestern
February 18 – Illinois
February 23 – at Indiana
February 26 – Rutgers
February 29 – at Iowa
March 3 – Michigan State
March 7 – at Northwestern