clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bobby Engram, D.J. Dozier, Steve Wisniewski, and Taylor Stubblefield Named to 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot

Three former Nittany Lion players and a current assistant coach will have a chance to be voted into the CFB Hall of Fame later this year.


Currently, there are 25 former Penn State football players and coaches inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, and we may see that number rise to as high as 28 after this year. The National Football Foundation announced today that three more former Nittany Lions in wide receiver Bobby Engram, running back D.J. Dozier, and offensive lineman Steve Wisniewski were amongst 78 total former college stars added to the 2021 Hall of Fame ballot. You can see the full ballot here, which is chock full of names you may remember watching in your younger days.

Engram is arguably the most heralded of the newly nominated bunch, having amassed over 3,000 yards receiving and 32 touchdowns in his Penn State career in the early-mid 90’s, before going on to enjoy a 14-year NFL playing career, and is now the tight ends coach for the Baltimore Ravens. Dozier is best known for being a steady tailback on the mid-80’s squads, and scoring the go-ahead TD against Miami in the 1987 Fiesta Bowl to clinch PSU’s second (and most recent) national title. Wisniewski was also a key contributor on the O-line during that same national title season for PSU, before going on to enjoy a dozen fruitful years with the Oakland Raiders.

Also joining the three newest PSU nominees is current Penn State receivers coach Taylor Stubblefield. Stubblefield as you may already know, was a standout receiver himself at Purdue, catching a school-record (and at the time, NCAA record) 325 balls for over 3,600 yards and 21 TD’s.

According to the NFF’s website, the inductees from the ballot will be announced sometime in early 2021, with the official ceremony to be held in December of that same year. Kerry Collins was the last former PSU player to be inducted, as part of the class of 2018.