clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Penn State Officially Names Captains for 2021 Season

Maryland v Penn State Photo by Scott Taetsch/Getty Images

With game week upon us, Penn State has officially announced its captains for the 2021 season.

It’s an even two captains per grouping, with Sean Clifford and Rasheed Walker as the offensive captains, PJ Mustipher and Jaquan Brisker as the defensive captains, and Jordan Stout and Jonathan Sutherland as the special teams captains.

This will be Clifford and Sutherland’s third season as captains, while this is the second time that Stout is named a captain. For the rest — Walker, Mustipher, and Brisker — this is their first time named captains.

Being a veteran heavy team, Penn State has plenty of other leadership on the roster. It wouldn’t have been a surprise to see Noah Cain, Jahan Dotson, Mike Miranda, Jesse Luketa, Derrick Tangelo, or Tariq Castro-Fields given the honor. Despite the fact they may not be “captain” in name, they’ll surely be principal figures within the locker room.